YMP Summer Schedule

We are blessed to have parishes from our Archdiocese support our program this year and as they have in the many past years. We thank you for your support and dedication to our project.

Program Description

The Youth Migrant Project is a summer long experience that provides current junior high youth (incoming grades 6,7,8, and 9 depending on parish jr. high youth program norms) a unique and challenging opportunity to live in community and be of service to migrant families in the Skagit Valley.  Parish youth groups serve for a week at a time throughout June, July and August. Participant jobs include: assisting in the day care centers, working at the Tri-Parish Food Bank, visiting the migrant camps, and providing donations (procured through participant fees.)  A participant’s day also includes prayer, community building, chores, and education about the needs of the poor.

Youth Migrant Project  -  2019 Summer Schedule

Dates

Parish

Contact Person

City

June

23-28

St. Leo

jhastings@stleoparish.org

Tacoma

June June 30-July 5

 

St. Mary’s

 

jackie@saintmaryseattle.org

Olaf Valderabano-Aguilar

saintmaryassociate@gmail.com

Seattle

July

7-12

St. Madeleine Sophie

Ann LaBeck

Ann@stmadsophie.org

Bellevue

July

14-19

Holy Family

Cathleen Ito

cathleeni@hfkparish.org

Kirkland

July

21-26

St. James Cathedral

Curtis Leighton

cleighton@stjames-cathedral.org

Seattle

July 28-Aug 2

St. John Vianney

St. Teresa of Calcutta

Jan Kline

jkline@sjvkirkland.org

Nicole  Wynn

nicole@saintteresacalcutta.org

Kirkland

Woodinville

August

4-9

St. John Bosco

Sonia Martinez

soniamartinez@stjbosco.org

Lakewood

August 11-16

 

St. Michaels

Anna Swanson

aswanson@saintmichaelparish.org

 

Olympia

August 18-23

Sacred Heart

Sophia Burroughs

sburroughs@sacredheart.org

Bellevue

 

St. Leo's Parish 

The youth of St. Leo's Parish have created an on-line journal to detail their mission experience at the Youth Migrant Project for the week of July 2, 2012.  The journal started in 2011 and continues with pictures and thoughts of the experience they had this year as well.

Click on the link below for their pictures and the thoughts the shared about their experience.  http://stleoymp.wordpress.com/

​St. James Cathedral 

Check out this page posted on the their website about the experience the youths from St. James Cathedral had working with the Youth Migrant Project:
http://www.stjames-cathedral.org/Pubs/Midst/11Nov/migrant.htm

Seattle Times Article

"Bridging cultures at migrant camp" - a  2007 Seattle Time article about the Youth Migrant Project
http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/localnews/2003821114_migrantcamps04m.html

 

Online Giving

Online Giving

Secure and Convenient Donate now!